Community Site
HomeResults - Logs - FixturesWPRFU NewsThank a refClub InfoLinksSite infoChat ZoneSign In
WPRFU News > WPRFU News Update 24th May

WPRFU News Update 24th May

It’s that time of year again when the BestMed School of Excellence trials take place to identify the best U16 and u18 talent in the Province.
The past fortnight has seen two sets of trials take place at City Park and Bellville HTS respectively with the talent on show a sight to behold. Yesterday the team participated in a series of matches with their Boland counterparts in Wellington.

BestMed is the proud sponsor of the WP Rugby School of Excellence Program. The Program was established to create a pathway for the young talent in the Province to succeed at a higher level.

Current and former DHL Western Province and DHL Stormers stars that have also passed through DHL Western Province Craven Week selection include Jean de Villiers, Cheslin Kolbe, Dillyn Leyds, Frans Malherbe, Steven Kitshoff, Eben Etzebeth, Louis Schreuder, Kobus van Wyk and Justin Geduld.

Recently, DHL Stormers and WP star Damien Willemse, another product of the School of Excellence, was named in the Junior Springbok side.

At the end of their time at the BestMed School of Excellence, the earmarked players will be selected for inclusion at the Western Province Rugby Institute and Western Province Rugby Academy to continue their development towards becoming professional rugby players.

DHL Western Province picked up their fourth consecutive SuperSport Rugby Challenge victory when they beat SWD Eagles 38-11 at DHL Newlands on Friday.

Two tries each from right wing Craig Barry and hooker Chad Solomon helped secure a convincing bonus-point victory following their bye last week. A special mention must go to Errol Jaggers who made his debut for the side. Jaggers has been a fixture for this club Tygerberg RFC and is duly getting his opportunity at a higher level.

The WP High Performance Coaches were out at DHL Newlands last week for a coaching clinic run in conjunction with the DHL Stormers. It proved to be an invaluable experience as they got to pit their wits against the top minds in Professional Rugby.

The DHL Stormers got back to winning ways in front of the DHL Newlands faithful on Saturday with a hard-fought 30 – 22 win over Blues on Friday evening.

Seven DHL Stormers players have been named in the Springbok Squad for the incoming Test Series against France. Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Frans Malherbe, Bongi Mbonambi, Damian de Allende have all been included while there is a debut for Dillyn Leyds who has been so consistent this year.

The Springboks will face France on Saturday, June 10 at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria, followed by Tests at Kings Park in Durban (June 17) and Ellis Park in Johannesburg (June 24).

There are six DHL Stormers players in the SA ‘A’ squad to face the French Barbarians in two matches in Durban and Soweto next month.

DHL Stormers forwards Wilco Louw, Ramone Samuels and Sikhumbuzo Notshe whill be joined by backs Juan de Jongh, Dewaldt Duvenage and Jano Vermaak in the 26-man squad.

The Sixth round of WP Club Rugby action took place on Saturday with several exceptional performances.

Tonight is a crunch Super League A encounter between NTK and UCT. Kickoff is at 21h00.

Bookmark or share this page to:Add to Yahoo Bookmarks Add to Facebook Add to Ask Add to Delicious Add to Twitter Add to StumbleUpon Add to MySpace Add to Google Bookmarks

News subscription

Sign in